Marvel Announces Phase 4

Back to Article
Back to Article

Marvel Announces Phase 4

Andres Nichols, Contributor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

During the 2019 San Diego Comic Con event, Marvel surprises fans with a new announcement for the next marvel phase. However Phase four will be much different from the previously announced Phase 3. Before, Marvel announced 11 movies for their Phase 3 project and before that Phase 2 and Phase 1 both had 6 movies. This time, Phase four will only have 5 movies: Black Widow, Eternals, Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, and Thor: Love and Thunder. However to make up for the small amount of movies this phase, Marvel has decided to make 5 different tv show series. These tv show series will all be available on Disney+ and, unlike previous Marvel television shows, these will all tie into the Marvel Cinematic Universe: MCU. The five tv show series are: The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, WandaVision, Loki, What If…?, and Hawkeye.

The first announced movie was a Black Widow movie. The only details that were given was that it will take place after Captain America: Civil War but before Infinity War and that the movie was estimated be out in theaters in 2020. Despite her death in Endgame, Black Widow still deserves to receive her own movie in the MCU.

The next movie Eternals is estimated to be released in November of 2020. Eternals which will be, as expected, based on its comic book series. Unfortunately, this movie has the least information released about it. The only thing that has been confirmed is that it will take place after the currently released films.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings was the first to be released in 2021. The main villain of this film will the the real Mandarin. Marvel released that the hero in Shang-Chi will be important for the future movies to come. As mentioned similarly to Eternals, not much information was given about the film.

In the late first half of 2021, Marvel will release Doctor Strange: in the Multiverse of Madness. Scarlet Witch will be featured in the film which makes since since her Disney+ series will tie into Doctor Strange’s film. Again, not much was revealed for this film too but based on the title it might be likely that the movie will travel through alternate universes.

Around November of 2021, a new Thor movie will be added to the series. This movie is titled Thor: Love and Thunder and it was confirmed that it will take place after Endgame. Not much info has been given but they did confirmed a few things. They confirmed that it will take place before Guardian of the Galaxies  Vol. 3, which will be in Phase 5. Marvel had also confirmed that Jane Foster will become the Mighty Thor.

Now heading to the Disney+ series, The Falcon and Winter Soldier will be the first to be released. As the name suggests, the series will be about Falcon and the Winter Soldier. With the series taking place after Endgame, Falcon will enter the world of being the next Captain America. The antagonist will be Baron Zemo who was the villain of Captain America: Civil War. The wait for this series will not be too long since it will be available for streaming in the fall of 2020.

Jumping into the spring of 2021, WandaVision will be the next to join the MCU through Disney+. The title would seem to hint to that it takes place before the events of Infinity War. However that is not the case. It was revealed that it will take place after Endgame. This causes the question of whether Vision will be resurrected. That is probably a stretch but it could happen or be an end goal of the series.

What If… Iron Man did not die in Endgame? What If… Captain America: Civil War’s conflict between the heroes never happened? What If… Thanos actually won in Endgame? Well Marvel will be exploring similar hypothetical questions that could have changed and greatly affected events of the MCU. Marvel mentioned that the series will start off with Captain America: The First Avenger and should be released sometime in 2021.

Loki will be receiving his own show series in 2021. This series will be a bit different from the other Marvel shows because it will take place in the alternate that was shown off in Endgame, where he escaped with the tesseract. However despite taking place in a alternate universe, this movie will somehow tie into Doctor Strange’s Phase 4 movie just like WandaVision.

The final show from Phase 4 will be about Hawkeye during the five years gap between Infinity War and Endgame. This show will present Clint Barton as Ronin, the vigilante that was briefly shown in Endgame who sought revenge for his family who had disappeared. The comic character Kate Bishop will join along in the series and will play as the female counterpart of Hawkeye.

Marvel had announced other movies that will be made. Those movies were: Blade, Fantastic Four, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3, Black Panther 2 and Captain Marvel 2 but unfortunately they were pushed back to Phase 5 which will take a few more years to arrive. However Marvel at least has graciously provided their fans with a few movies and tv show series to enjoy until the arrivement of Phase 5.




Print Friendly, PDF & Email